If a person’s phone is off, then any text messages sent to them will be stored by their cell phone carrier until the phone is turned back on. The messages will remain in the carrier’s system until the person opens them, at which time they will be delivered to the phone.
If the phone remains off for an extended period of time, the messages may eventually expire and be deleted from the carrier’s system.
How can you tell if someone’s phone is off when texting?
If you are texting someone and they do not respond, it could mean that their phone is off. You may see that the message you sent has a gray “Delivered” status underneath it, or it may be stuck in the “Sending” status.
If you’re sending an iMessage, you should also be able to tell if someone’s phone is off by checking the Delivery Receipts. If the delivery receipt reads “Not Delivered” then it usually means that the device is powered off.
Additionally, if you’ve sent multiple messages and have yet to receive a response, then it’s likely that the person’s phone is off.
Do texts deliver when phone is turned off?
No, texts will not deliver when a phone is turned off. Text messages are sent through cellular networks, typically through SMS (Short Message Service). When a phone is powered off, it will not be able to receive messages.
If a wireless carrier uses an IM (Instant Message) feature, such messages may be delivered in the form of a notification or other type of alert. However, in general, standard SMS messages will not be delivered to a powered-off device.
The recipient would need to turn on their device in order for them to receive the message.
What happens when you send a text to an iPhone that is turned off?
When you send a text message to an iPhone that is turned off, it will show up as ‘delivered’ in your messaging app. However, the message will not be received until the recipient turns on their iPhone and the message is downloaded from Apple’s messaging servers.
If the recipient never turns their iPhone back on, the message will remain in an undelivered state.
Am I blocked or is their phone off?
It’s hard to tell without being able to see the person or talk to them directly. If you have been trying to reach them, but have not received any response, it could be that they are blocked you or their phone is off.
If it has gone beyond a day or two and you still haven’t heard back, it could be that their phone is off. One way to check is to call the person from another number and see if you can get through. If the call goes unanswered or reaches voicemail, then it’s possible that their phone is off.
If the person has another communication tool such as a messaging app, then you could attempt to contact them through that as well. Overall, unless you can reach out directly, it’s hard to know for sure whether you are blocked or if the person’s phone is off.
What does it look like on iPhone when you are blocked?
Once you have been blocked on an iPhone, you will no longer be able to communicate with the user who blocked you. Text messages and calls you send to them will not be delivered, and if you try to call them, you will often hear a generic message indicating that the user you are trying to reach is unavailable.
Additionally, if you had previously texted or called the number, you will no longer see that contact in your list of conversations, and the contact will no longer be visible in your call log or list of contacts.
Finally, if you are in a group chat with the person who blocked you, you will no longer be able to see their messages in the chat.
Why did my text messages turn from blue to green am I blocked?
The color of text messages indicate the type of messaging service being used to send and receive messages. If a message is blue then that usually indicates that the message is being sent through your cellular carrier’s messaging service (like iMessage).
On the other hand, if the message is green then it usually means that it is being sent via a third-party messaging service like WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger. It is possible that someone has blocked you as the messages should not be changing color otherwise.
To find out if you are blocked, try to send a message to that person. If you are blocked then it should not be delivered and you would receive an error message. Additionally, if you are blocked there is a good chance that you would be unable to view their profile or contact them on other channels like WhatsApp, Facebook, Instagram, etc.